Stork, Ibis and Spoonbill Conservation                                                                                                  The Publication of the IUCN SSC Stork, Ibis and Spoonbill Specialist Group


Stork, Ibis and Spoonbill Conservation (SISC) is a peer-reviewed publication of the IUCN SSC Stork, Ibis and Spoonbill Specialist Group (SIS-SG) that collates and publishes content on the ecology and conservation of both wild and captive populations of SIS species worldwide.

The publication aims to provide easy access to high quality information on SIS species worldwide. Two Editors-in-chief supported by an outstanding Editorial Board comprising of field ecologists, conservationists, and captive breeding experts provide leadership and peer-review to the publication.

Submissions to the SISC are not restricted to members of the SIS-SG. Anyone with an interest in SIS  is welcome to submit manuscripts.

The SISC is an Open Access publication, and there will be no charge for the access and download of its contents. However, we invite sponsorship to help allay costs of maintaining the website. Interested donors may please write to for details.


All submissions are to be made to

The publication invites submissions that fit under the following sections: Cover Photos, Letters to the Editor, Research Articles, Short Communications, Reviews, Book Reviews, News, Field Experiences, Featured SIS Species, and SIS Bibliography. Additional details to help with the preparations of submissions are provided in the Instructions to Authors.

 Editorial Board:


  1. K. S. Gopi Sundar, India
  2. Luis Santiago Cano, Spain

Editorial Board

  1. Vladimir Andronov, Russia
  2. Kate Brandis, Australia
  3. R. Harrison Edell, United States of America
  4. Frédéric Goes, Cambodia
  5. Catherine E. King, Spain
  6. Ricardo F. de Lima, Portugal
  7. Lubomir Peske, Czech Republic
  8. Simone Santoro, Spain
  9. Thilina Nathmin de Silva, Sri Lanka
  10. André Stadler, Germany
  11. Iain R. Taylor, Australia
  12. Piotr Tryjanowski, Poland
  13. Abdul J. Urfi, India
  14. Amanda D. Webber, United Kingdom